Directory / CompTIA

CompTIA SecAI+

A vendor-neutral security exam on protecting AI systems, including performance-based questions. It is written for experienced security professionals.

What it signals

Practical assessment: Includes interactive, code or case-study items (3 of 4) Practical assessment
Includes interactive, code or case-study items. Proctored with performance-based items
Identity assurance: Proctored with identity verification (4 of 4) Identity assurance
Proctored with identity verification. Pearson VUE (not stated on the page we read)
Depth: Professional (3 of 4) Depth
Professional. Professional level.
Experience expected: 2 to 3 years (3 of 4) Experience expected
2 to 3 years. 2+ years security, 3-4 years IT
Portability: Vendor-neutral (4 of 4) Portability
Vendor-neutral. Vendor-neutral
Verifiability: Public badge or registry (4 of 4) Verifiability
Public badge or registry. CompTIA verification/badge

For hiring managers

  • A security credential, not an AI development one. Price sources conflict: $359 (several third parties, Jul-Aug 2026) vs $298 after a reported price cut on 29 May 2026. English and Japanese.

Verifying it

CompTIA verification service / digital badge (standard CompTIA practice; not read on this page)

What it covers

Published exam outline

  • Basic AI concepts related to cybersecurity 17%
  • Securing AI systems 40%
  • AI-assisted security 24%
  • AI governance, risk, and compliance 19%

By topic

GenAI apps: Touched on (under 10%) (1 of 4) GenAI apps
Touched on (under 10%). AI basics only
Agents: Touched on (under 10%) (1 of 4) Agents
Touched on (under 10%). Touched within securing AI systems
Classical ML: Touched on (under 10%) (1 of 4) Classical ML
Touched on (under 10%). Basic AI concepts domain
Operations: Touched on (under 10%) (1 of 4) Operations
Touched on (under 10%). Touched
Data: Touched on (under 10%) (1 of 4) Data
Touched on (under 10%). Data security touched
Responsible AI: Core focus (over 35%) (4 of 4) Responsible AI
Core focus (over 35%). Whole exam is AI security and governance

Exam details

Who the provider says it is for. Experienced cybersecurity professionals securing AI systems

Format
Maximum of 60; multiple-choice and performance-based
Delivery
Pearson VUE (not stated on the page we read)
Code or hands-on work
Includes performance-based (simulation) items
Prerequisites
None mandatory
Recommended experience
3-4 years in IT and 2+ years hands-on cybersecurity; Security+, CySA+, PenTest+ or equivalent recommended
Renewal
Continuing education units plus annual CE fee (third-party; CEU count not verified)

Preparing

Not confirmed

These details were not available from an official source at the time of research.

  • Current list price ($298 vs $359)
  • Delivery options
  • CEU count for renewal
  • Verification method
Sources (4)