Directory / CompTIA

CompTIA AI Essentials

A two to three hour beginner course with a competency certificate. It is listed alongside CompTIA's certifications but is not one.

What it signals

Practical assessment: Knowledge quiz, unproctored or open book (1 of 4) Practical assessment
Knowledge quiz, unproctored or open book. Unproctored assessment (proctoring not stated)
Identity assurance: No identity check (0 of 4) Identity assurance
No identity check. Online, self-paced; proctoring not stated
Depth: Foundational (1 of 4) Depth
Foundational. Foundational level.
Experience expected: None (0 of 4) Experience expected
None. None
Portability: Vendor-neutral (4 of 4) Portability
Vendor-neutral. Vendor-neutral
Verifiability: Certificate with an ID (2 of 4) Verifiability
Certificate with an ID. Downloadable certificate

For hiring managers

  • Despite sitting under /certifications/, this is a short course with a competency certificate, not a CompTIA certification. Other roadmap items announced Mar 2024 (AI Architect+, AI SysOp+, AI Prompt+, AI Scripting+, PenTest AI+, CySA AI+) could not be confirmed as launched.

What it covers

By topic

GenAI apps: Touched on (under 10%) (1 of 4) GenAI apps
Touched on (under 10%). Prompting at user level
Agents: Not covered (0 of 4) Agents
Not covered. Not covered
Classical ML: Not covered (0 of 4) Classical ML
Not covered. Not covered
Operations: Not covered (0 of 4) Operations
Not covered. Not covered
Data: Touched on (under 10%) (1 of 4) Data
Touched on (under 10%). Responsible use of data touched
Responsible AI: Touched on (under 10%) (1 of 4) Responsible AI
Touched on (under 10%). Touched

Exam details

Who the provider says it is for. Beginners with no prior AI experience

Format
2-3 hour course with a competency assessment leading to a downloadable CompTIA CompCert (Competency Certificate)
Delivery
Online, self-paced; proctoring not stated
Code or hands-on work
No code

Preparing

Not confirmed

These details were not available from an official source at the time of research.

  • Price
  • Assessment length and pass mark
  • Status of other announced CompTIA AI products
Sources (2)